Home » Uncategorized » Letter #1: March 21, 1812 to Montgomery Preston

Letter #1: March 21, 1812 to Montgomery Preston

A Dismal little coaching inn, knee-deep in mud and nowhere of note        March 21, 1812

Dear Sir Montgomery,

No, no, that will never do. I am sorry, my friend, baronet or no, I cannot call you anything but Monty.

My deepest condolences on the loss of your father. Though I know you have expected the unhappy event for quite some time, I know it is difficult to step into his place nonetheless. I watched my brother endure that transition and uniquely understand the weights you must feel right now.

In your last letter you asked me to recommend a new solicitor in London since Lyman’s untimely demise. I have several men who you might consider to take his place. I will introduce you when next I am in London. Sadly I cannot say precisely when that will be, as I have been condemned to visit my aunt at Rosings by Prince William himself.

Yes, I can hear you scolding me now for calling him that. But truly, even you must admit, when he slips into his haughty, overbearing Master-of-all-he-surveys manner, there is simply no other way to refer to him. He still refuses to leave Georgiana in my care. I cannot begin to tell you how that infuriates me. But you well know it, so I shall not waffle on about it.

Something more than his usual irritation with me is troubling my brother, though, and I mean to get to the truth of it. To be entirely frank. I am worried about him. He has not been himself since his trip with Bingley, and I cannot make out why. Something happened in Hertfordshire, but what?

He does not gamble on anything—cards, horses or sport of any kind. He hardly drinks and would never meddle with anyone’s daughters. I can only imagine some business dealing went sour. If that is the case though, why the secrecy? If you hear anything in town, you will let me know of course.

I have not forgotten about your dream of a matched team for your four-in-hand. I continue to look for such beasts as I am dragged through the countryside by His Highness. Are you really certain you still wish to incur such an expense? I know horses are your single indulgence, but still, you may wish to review your situation again before taking on such an expense.

Yours,

T.D.

Read Chapter 1 of the Darcy Brother Here

9 thoughts on “Letter #1: March 21, 1812 to Montgomery Preston

  1. Indeed it is difficult as his normal countenance is so dour. But there is something in his air, his manner of walking, his choice of words, and the way he stops mid-stride and mutters something under his breath then turns around and walks the other direction all the while glowering at any who cross his path. The latter in particular has left me most suspicious.

    yours,

    T.D.

  2. Might I suggest, Sir, that you write to your sister? I am certain that he would have been in correspondence with her during his stay with his friend in Hertfordshire.

  3. I would also recommend that course of action, sir. He corresponds with your sister regularly. He would undoubtedly have revealed something about his state of mind to her.

  4. I will of course write to her, but have little hope of getting any real information from her. I cannot see Prince William being more likely to share his concerns with a young girl than he would be to share them with me. But perhaps there are small details she may have been privy to that might assist me to reconstruct his story.

    yours,
    T.D.

  5. Pingback: The Darcy Brothers -A New Reader’s Choice Story on Austen Authors | Susan Mason-Milks

  6. Sir, I greatly appreciate your kind words of prudence to Monty about procuring more horses at this time. Very wise, indeed.

  7. Pingback: Coming Soon 'The Darcy Brothers' - Random Bits of Fascination

Leave a Reply

