Home » To Georgiana Darcy » Letter to Miss Georgiana Darcy, March 22, 1812

Letter to Miss Georgiana Darcy, March 22, 1812

On the road to Rosings

Dearest Georgie,

As you have undoubtedly heard by now, our dear brother has kidnapped me and is dragging me off to Rosings to be tortured and tormented by Aunt Catherine over Easter. You know how she simply adores me.

Fortune has truly smiled on you, as William knows how frightened you are of Lady C and has allowed you to stay safely tucked away with Mrs. Annesley instead of making the annual Easter trek to Rosings. Speaking of your companion, please give her my greetings. She is a lovely lady indeed. You are probably so busy preparing for your come out that you will hardly notice my extended absence from town. Has Aunt Matlock been visiting frequently to assist with your training?

Seriously, dear little sister, you must listen to everything Mrs. Annesley and our aunt tell you even when you do not wish to. They are very wise ladies. I am looking forward to dancing with you at your come out ball in a few years so you had best pay close attention to your dancing master. I promise to practice with you when I am next in town.

It has been raining steadily since we left Pemberley, making travel very disagreeable. At least our brother has deigned to let me bring my new horse, Theseus, along behind the coach. Unfortunately, because of the inclement weather, I have not been able to ride for more than an hour or two a day. Instead I have had to endure William’s cheery company in the close quarters of the coach. (By the way, his new coach is quite nice inside and also well sprung for comfort.)

I am finding traveling with our brother even more trying than usual. I am weary of trying to find a subject on which we can converse without arguing or that does not provoke yet another lecture from him on my faults. I have now officially given up on that project and mainly read when the road is not too rough, or more often, I simply sleep. As you might imagine, I have slept so much that I will barely need a bed for the entire length of our stay at Rosings.

I know you carry on a lively correspondence with our Cousin Anne, but I hope I have your permission to give her your love when I see her. I will write again after we arrive and fill you in on all Lady C’s latest advice.

Your (tormented) brother,

Theo Darcy

10 thoughts on “Letter to Miss Georgiana Darcy, March 22, 1812

  1. Sorry for this wicked pen that blots . It should read is ” to see how he treats his sister”. My apologies for my poor penmanship

    • Thank you for the lovely compliment although I fear my brother would not agree with you. Georgiana is very dear to me. This past year I have been trying to encourage her out of her shyness using every means at my disposal, especially humor. If you have any thoughts on additional strategies I might try, please share them with me.
      Note: I too often have difficulty with ink blots in my letters. I suppose I should be more diligent in mending my pens.

  2. I love the tone of Theo’s letters – sweet, affectionate and a tad irreverent, just perfect for Fitzwilliam Darcy’s younger brother! – and I loved his letter to Monty too. Hmmm! What COULD have happened in Hertfordshire …?

    Now, let young Master Darcy not see this, or else it might go to his head but the portrait chosen is a masterpiece!!! What a hotie!

    (BTW – who’s the original sitter, do you know? Sorry, Maria Grace, if you’ve already answered this somewhere on facebook, but I couldn’t find the thread to save my life!)

  3. Joana – several of us are actually writing Theo’s letters and the responses. As for the portrait, it’s a self-portrait of Carl Joseph Begas. The minute we saw it, we knew it was Theo and yes, he’s a hottie!

  4. Pingback: The Darcy Brothers -A New Reader’s Choice Story on Austen Authors | Susan Mason-Milks

Leave a Reply

